top of page
  • Writer's pictureBB Photography

5 Seconds Of Summer Blows Away The Fandom With Hit Album 5SOS5 9/26/2022

5SOS5- 5 Seconds of Summer album review by Brooklynn Beck


I was so excited when it was finally the day for this album to come out! I’ve been waiting for so long and started my countdown to this date as soon as 5 Seconds of Summer announced that they were releasing a new album. Slowly throughout the year, 5SOS has released a couple of songs that were on this album, such as Blender and Me, Myself and I. This gave us a small taste of what would be on the new album. I have to say, just by hearing those few songs early, I was hooked and dying to hear more.

The guys have outdone themselves this time! Majority of this album was written and produced by all 4 members of the band. Some songs did have some help by others and they have a song on the fith album that feature somebody else, which is Sierra Deaton, singer songwriter and Luke Hemmings’ fiance. But over all the boys did have a huge impact on their album.

With this album, they were able to branch out and try different writing techniques and different styles of music. 5SoS5 is completely different from what we heard of in the past. This album really focuses on human emotions and relationships. The vibe of the album has its ups and downs, so it’s perfect for anyone! It’ll make you dance and then cry right afterwards.

My favorite songs have changed since the first time I heard them. It really does depend on what mood I am in to say which one is my favorite. All of them are uniquely different. But let's focus on a few songs that caught my eye.

Bad Omens was the first one that I listened to off the new album when the album came out. The name automatically caught me off guard when they released this soundtrack list months prior. This song is really emotional if you can relate to it. It's about loving somebody and finding out that your lover is in love with somebody else. You can tell that they’re no longer interested in you by little things they no longer do. If you sit down and focus on the lyrics, it is definitely a tearjerker.

Older features Luke Hemmings’ fiance Sierra Deaton, who is already well known by her amazing songwriting and voice. As they've explained when the song originally came out, Luke and Sierra wrote this as a joke and Michael Clifford thought it was really beautiful. Michael really wanted it on the album. So Sierra, Luke and Michael sat down and finished the song and put it on the album. The song is basically saying that no matter what ups and downs your relationship has, no matter what you go through, it is always better to go through it with each other than do it alone. That the day that you lose your significant other, is the day that you finally break down. The melody is so beautiful. I'm happy that Michael convinced them to put it on the album.

Flatline made me laugh the first time I heard it just because of the darker undertones of the lyrics with the upbeat party Melody. The vocals on this one are amazing. It doesn't sound like the older 5 Seconds of Summer, this sounds like a new sound that they created and I love that for them!

Now Emotions; Michael Clifford really shines on his vocals in this song. The fact that he produced it too is amazing! This song made me cry the first time I heard it. It is so sad yet uplifting. In this song, it explains that it's okay to not be okay and as cheesy as it sounds, it's true! Sometimes you just need to sit there and understand why you're feeling this way. The sound of this one is way different than the rest of the album; it sounds more grunge-pop. I wouldn't be mad if they added more songs like this in the future!

Lastly but definitely not least, Tears was another song that stood out to me. Tears has such a good rhythm to it. It is not the happiest song and that's okay. I did notice when I listened to it, that it reminded me of Ashton Irwin's solo album. Come to find out with a little research, Ashton did help write the song and he is one of the lead vocals in it! He sounds amazing. Tears is a perfect song to close off the album!

Overall this album is amazing. It is completely different from their past albums that they have released. Five albums in and they still find ways to express different emotions and different writing styles. It also makes it even better that Michael produced most of this album and that all members have a huge part in writing the lyrics. Bravo to 5SOS and their crew. They have done it again with another hit album. I highly recommend listening to this album even if you already have an opinion on 5 Seconds of Summer and how they sound. Give this album a chance because it might change your mind!!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page